The Southern Jewels – New Itinerary of Maharajas’ Express Train

Most of the luxury trains focus on the northern part of the country. Maharaja’s Express has extended its itinerary to cover South Indian tourist attractions too. The train has introduced a new itinerary named ‘The Southern Jewels. The itinerary stretches for eight days. The trip starts at Trivandrum Railway Station, Kerala and ends at Chatrpati Shivaji Terminus, Mumbai. The tourists are requested to gather at Vivanta Taj Hotel, few hours before the departure time.

Day one – Trivandrum

After completing the registration process, tourists are welcomed to aboard the train. The welcome process includes a traditional ritual of welcome. The tourists will be provided with a welcome drink and ample amount of time will be provided for settling inside the cabins. The train starts from the station and moves towards Chettinad. Dinner is served on-board and overnight stay on-board.

Day two – Chettinad

The train reaches Tamil Nadu and halts at Chettinad by morning. The tourists would be taken to visit top tourist attractions like Chettinad mansions, tile factories, heritage hotels and others. Tourists can also take part or enjoy many activities like henna art, sari draping and others. Lunch is served on-board and the rest of the day is free to enjoy the amenities inside the train. Dinner is served on-board and overnight stay in the train as the train moves towards Mahabalipuram.

Day three – Mahabalipuram

After breakfast, tourists are taken to the heritage site of Mahabalipuram where one can enjoy watching ancient structures, statues, shore temples and others. Lunch will be served along with a folk dance performance. After lunch, tourists are taken back to the train where the rest of the day is at leisure. Dinner is served on board and tourists can enjoy all amenities inside the train. Train starts its travel to Karnataka.

Day four – Mysore

After breakfast, the sightseeing tour starts. The tourists will be taken to Wodeyar Palace and lunch will be served at a heritage hotel. You can choose special trip to Srirangapatnam, a temple-rich town or get back to the train and rest. Dinner will be served on-board and the train travels towards Hampi. Overnight stay on-board.

Day five – Hampi

Hampi is a world heritage spot. After breakfast, tourists would be taken to the Hampi heritage site for enjoying architectures, temples, statues, stone chariots and others. A ride in local tuk-tuk will also be organized. Lunch will be served on-board and tourists would be taken to Anegudi Village for enjoying Neolithic remains or, you can enjoy spa retreat in any hotel. Dinner will be served on-board. Overnight stay on-board. The train starts its travel to Goa.

Day six – Goa

The morning is for enjoying the sceneries from the train. After lunch on-board, the tourists would be taken to music performances, museums and others. A carnival will be scheduled in the evening and dinner would be served there. Tourists would be taken back to train for over-night stay as the train stays at the spot.

Day seven – Goa (Continuation)

After breakfast, the sightseeing starts. Top spots included in the list are Basilica of Bom Jesus, Se Cathedral, Walking tour of Old Panjim, visit to ancient houses and others. Tourists will be taken back to the train for dinner and overnight stay. Dinner will be served along with a dance performance.

Day eight – Mumbai and departure

By morning of eighth day, the train reaches Mumbai station. After breakfast, the de-boarding process starts. After all formalities, you can de-board the train and either stay in Mumbai and enjoy the tourists attractions or reach the airport for your departure flight.

The Southern Jewels is the new itinerary of Maharajas Express train.

Post a Comment